When replacing the target volume, you must delete the mirror in order to ensure a full resync of the data from the source volume to the target volume when the target volume is back in place. Deleting the mirror discontinues replication altogether removing the mirror from the job so that when your mirror is recreated with the new target, a full resync will be performed.
Using the DELETEMIRROR Command:
- Open an elevated command prompt
- Change Directory:
- cd %extmirrbase%
- Execute the DELETEMIRROR command:
- EMCMD <system> DELETEMIRROR <volume letter> [<target system>]
- Once new target is in place, recreate the mirror.
Note: If an entire Server/Target is being replaced, please ensure the following registry key from the Source node is exported and merged to the new Target.
This will ensure that the configurations for the mirrors are identical on the Source/Target(s) and are available for switchover in Windows Server Failover Cluster (WSFC).