One of the primary benefits of using a logical volume manager is the ability to dynamically resize logical volumes as storage requirements change. Because this may involve adding or deleting physical partitions or disks from an LVM volume group definition, the LVM Recovery Kit includes a mechanism for modifying an existing resource hierarchy to reflect such a change.

All volume group, logical volume and file system reconfiguration should be performed outside of LifeKeeper prior to modifying the LifeKeeper hierarchy to reflect the changes. Refer to the LVM HowTo document referenced in the Documentation and References section for information about how this is done. If any of the steps require you to unmount or unconfigure a resource that is being protected by LifeKeeper, be sure to use the LifeKeeper GUI to do so, using the Out of Service operation.

To update a LifeKeeper hierarchy following these changes, first access the Resource Properties dialog for the modified volume group, either by right-clicking on the active volume group resource and selecting Properties or by using the Edit > Resource > Properties menu selection and selecting the appropriate volume group resource in the Select Resource field. The resulting Resource Properties dialog should look like the one pictured in Figure 4 below including the Resource Configuration button near the bottom.

Figure 4: LVM Volume Group Resource Properties Dialog

Clicking the Resource Configuration button initiates the mechanism for reconfiguring your hierarchy to reflect any modifications to the volume group resource. After a brief pause, an information box will display the volume group modifications that LifeKeeper has detected. Figure 5 below shows an example in which a single disk partition has been added to a volume group.

Figure 5: LVM Volume Group Reconfiguration for Added Device

As stated in the information box, to reconfigure the LifeKeeper volume group to reflect the changes that have been detected, simply click the Reconfigure button. If you do not wish to proceed with the LifeKeeper hierarchy modification, click Cancel.

After clicking the Reconfigure button, an information box will appear showing the progress of the reconfiguration procedure as shown in Figure 6 below. When the process has been completed successfully, the Done button will become enabled. Clicking Done will close the information box and return you to the display of the Resource Properties dialog.

Figure 6: LVM Volume Group Reconfiguration for Added Device

The following two figures show examples of the information boxes that would be displayed during the reconfiguration process when a device partition has been removed from a volume group.

Figure 7: LVM Volume Group Reconfiguration for Deleted Device

Figure 8: LVM Volume Group Reconfiguration for Deleted Device

Feedback

Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment