In the event that the primary server has attempted and failed local recovery, or failed completely, most server administrators will want LifeKeeper to automatically restore the protected resource(s) to a backup server. This is the default LifeKeeper behavior. However, some administrators may not want the protected resource(s) to automatically go in-service at a recovery site. For example, if LifeKeeper is installed in a WAN environment where the network connection between the servers may not be reliable in a disaster recovery situation.

Automatic failover is enabled by default for all protected resources. To disable automatic failover for protected resources or to prevent automatic failover to a backup server, use the Failover section located on the General tab of Server Properties to configure as follows:

For each server in the cluster:

  1. Bring up the Server Properties dialog just as you would for viewing server properties.
  1. Select the General tab. In the Failover section of the Server Properties dialog, check the server to disable system and resource failover capabilities. By default, all failover capabilities of LifeKeeper are enabled.

In the Set Confirm Failover On column, select the server to be disqualified as a backup server for a complete failure of the local server.

In the Set Block Resource Failover On column, select the server to be disqualified as a backup server for any failed resource hierarchy on this local server. Resource failovers cannot be disabled without first disabling system failover capabilities.

To commit your selections, press the Apply button.

Refer to [Confirm Failover] and [Block Resource Failover] Settings for configuration details.

Feedback

Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment