Beginning with LifeKeeper 8.0, logging is done through the standard syslog facility. LifeKeeper supports three syslog implementations: standard syslog, rsyslog, and syslog-ng. During package installation, syslog will be configured to use the “local6” facility for all LifeKeeper log messages. The syslog configuration file (for example, /etc/syslog-ng/syslog-ng.conf) will be modified to include LifeKeeper-specific routing sending all LifeKeeper log messages to /var/log/lifekeeper.log. (The original configuration file will be backed up with the same name ending in “~”.)

The facility can be changed after installation by using the lklogconfig tool located in /opt/LifeKeeper/bin. For example, changing the facility to local5, run the following command instead.

lkstop -f
lklogconfig --action=update --facility=local5

See the lklogconfig(8) manpage on a system with LifeKeeper installed for more details on this tool.

If a generic resource script puts a message into /opt/LifeKeeper/out/log directly, LifeKeeper will send a log message with the error severity level as the default into /var/log/lifekeeper.log. The severity level can be changed to information level by adding the following parameter into /etc/default/LifeKeeper, LOGMGR_LOGLEVEL=LK_INFO.


Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Post Comment